ISO/IEC 27005 with OCTAVE

Mastering Risk Evaluation and Optimal Risk Management in Information Security based on ISO/IEC 27005 with the OCTAVE Method

Duration: 5 days
Prerequisites: Knowledge on Risk Management and Information Security is preferred.
Who Should Attend:

    • Risk managers
    • Member of the information security team
    • Persons responsible for information security or conformity within an organization
    • Staff implementing or seeking to comply with ISO 27001 or involved in a risk management program
    • IT consultants
  • To understand the concepts, approaches, methods and techniques allowing an effective risk management according to ISO 27005
  • To interpret the requirements of ISO 27001 on information security risk management
  • To understand the relationship between the information security risk management, the security controls and the compliance with the requirements of different stakeholders of an organization
  • To acquire the competence to implement, maintain and manage an ongoing information security risk management program according to ISO 27005
  • To acquire the competence to effectively advise organizations on the best practices in information security risk management


This five-day intensive course, the participants develop the competence to master the basic risk management elements related to all assets of relevance for information security using the ISO/IEC 27005:2011 standard as a reference framework and OCTAVE method. The OCTAVE method (including OCTAVE-S and OCTAVE Allegro) was developed by the CERT. Based on practical exercises and case studies, participants acquire the necessary knowledge and skills needed to perform an optimal information security risk assessment and manage risks in time by being familiar with their life cycle. This training fits perfectly in the framework of an ISO/IEC 27001:2005 standard implementation process.

General Information

  • Exam and certification fees are included in the training price
  • A student manual containing over 500 pages of information and practical examples will be distributed to the participants
  • A participation certificate of 35 CPD (Continuing Professional Development) credits will be issued to the participants
  • In case of failure of an exam, participants are allowed to retake the exam for free under certain conditions

Day 1: Introduction, risk management program according to ISO/IEC 27005

  • Concepts and definitions related to risk management
  • Risk management standards, frameworks and methodologies
  • Implementation of an information security risk management program
  • Understanding an organization and its context

Day 2: Risk identification and assessment, risk evaluation, treatment, acceptance, communication and surveillance according to ISO/IEC 27005

  • Risk identification
  • Risk analysis and risk evaluation
  • Risk assessment with a quantitative method
  • Risk treatment
  • Risk acceptance and residual risk management
  • Information Security Risk Communication and Consultation
  • Risk monitoring and review

Day 3: Exam and start of a risk assessment with OCTAVE

  • Certified ISO 27005 Risk Manager Exam (2 hours)
  • Presentation of OCTAVE
  • Phase 1 – Process 1 to 3 (Understanding the Organization)
  • Phase 1 – Process 4 (Create threat profiles)
  • Phase 2 – Process 5 (Identification of key components)

Day 4: Assessment of vulnerabilities and risk, according to OCTAVE

  • Phase 2 – Process 5 (Continued)
  • Phase 2 – Process 6 (Evaluation of selected components)
  • Phase 3 – Process 7 (Conducting the risk assessment)
  • Phase 3 – Process 8 (Development of a Protection Strategy)

Day 5: The OCTAVE method implementation approach and conclusion

  • Phase 3 – Process 8 (Development of a Protection Strategy – cont.)
  • The OCTAVE Method Implementation Guide
  • OCTAVE – S
  • OCTAVE Allegro
  • Summary
  • This training is based on both theory and practice:
    • Sessions of lectures illustrated with examples based on real cases
    • Practical exercises based on a full case study including role playing and narrative presentation
    • Review exercises to assist the exam preparation
    • Practice test similar to the certification exam
  • To benefit from the practical exercises, the number of training participants is limited
  • The “PECB Certified ISO 28000 Lead Auditor” exam fully meets the requirements of the PECB Examination and Certification Programme (ECP). The exam covers the following competence domains:
    • Domain 1: Fundamental principles and concepts of supply chain security
    •  Domain 2: Supply Chain Security Management System (SCSMS)
    •  Domain 3: Fundamental audit concepts and principles
    •  Domain 4: Preparation of an ISO 28000 audit
    •  Domain 5: Conducting of an ISO 28000 audit
    •  Domain 6: Closing an ISO 28000 audit
    • Domain 7: Managing an ISO 28000 audit program
  • The “PECB Certified ISO 28000 Lead Auditor” exam is available in different languages (the complete list of languages can be found in the examination application form)
  • Duration: 3 hours
  • For more information about exam, refer to PECB section on ISO 28000 Lead Auditor Exam
  • After successfully completing the exam, participants can apply for the credentials of PECB Certified ISO 28000 Provisional Auditor, PECB Certified ISO 28000 Auditor or PECB Certified ISO 28000 Lead Auditor depending on their level of experience.  Those credentials are available for internal and external auditors
  • A certificate will be issued to participants who successfully pass the exam and comply with all the other requirements related to the selected credential
  • For more information about ISO 28000 certifications and PECB certification process, refer to PECB section on ISO 28000 Lead Auditor